

## NWPP Operating Committee May 15 – 1300-1700 Pacific Time

Minutes

**Approval Items -\*** 

# INTRODUCTIONS (1300 – 1310)

The meeting was started at 1:03 p.m. by Chairman Chris McDarment.

- 1. Introductions, Arrangements, and Agenda Changes Chris McDarment, OC Chair
  - a. Quorum (50% of OC Membership and requires 2/3 majority of established quorum)
  - b. Anti-Trust Compliance Statement Kevin Conway, WPP

Kevin Conway, WPP

c. Review Safety Protocols

ChaRee DiFabio confirmed a quorum of NWPP OC Members, 28 out of 37 members present. Kevin Conway read the WPP Anti-Trust Compliance statement and reviewed the safety protocols for the in-person attendees.

# ADMINISTRATION (1310 -1355)

2.	Western Power Pool – Corporate Update Ryan Roy, V		Ryan Roy, WPP
	a.	WPP Strategic Planning Update	Rebecca Sexton, WPP
	b.	NWPP OC Good Faith Estimate – YTD Overview 2023-2024	Ryan Roy, WPP
	с.	NWPP OC Budget Discussion	Ryan Roy, WPP

Ryan Roy and Sarah Edmonds reported on the status of the WPP Strategic plan and the current WPP Budget. Ryan committed to emailing out to members the OC Year-to-date overview for 2023-2024 by June 15, 2024. Now that the WPP has had its accounting reviewed and audited, he will be able to provide accurate numbers. Mr. Roy did provide a presentation on the drivers that have affected the WPP Budget for 2024-2025, and how that has impacted the member's payments for the upcoming budget cycle.

A motion was made by Raj Hundal and seconded by Mike Stussy to endorse the proposed budget for 2024-2025. The motion was carried by unanimous consent.

An action item to have Ryan Roy identify and reach out to new OC members on the impact of the new budget to their dues.

3. Approve Previous Meeting Minutes as Distributed

a. November 11, 2023 February 7, 2024 – \*Accept by Consensus McDarment, Chair The February 7, 2024 meeting minutes were reviewed and accepted by unanimous consensus. New Desert Southwest members were asked to abstain, since they were not at the last OC meeting.



#### **OC COMMITTEE ACTIVITIES**

4. Election of OC Officers (1355 – 1420)

McDarment, Chair

Chairman McDarment announced the election of officers. Vice-Chair Adam Labuga (TID) was advanced to Chair the OC, and Calvin Dacus (TEPC) was nominated to the Vice-Chair. There were no other nominations for Vice-Chair.

Calvin Dacus was elected as Vice-Chair by unanimous consent.

### 5. AZGT Presentation on requesting OC membership (1420-1445) Tyler Pearce, AZG&T

Tyler Pearce gave an overview of AEPCO, their footprint and their desire to join and participate in the NWPP OC. Tyler answered multiple questions about how AEPCO could contribute to the mission and goals of the NWPP OC. After the presentation, Mr. Pearce and other AEPCO representatives were asked to leave the meeting and allow open discussion. Several members of the OC gave their endorsement for AEPCO to join, based on their experience with them as part of SPP.

Chris Bultsma made a motion to accept the membership request of AEPCO. The motion was seconded by Thomas Bagnell. The motion passed unanimously by a roll call vote.

Kevin Conway was given an action item to inform AEPCO of their approval of membership to the NWPP OC as soon as practicable.

 Operations Training Subcommittee – Status Update (1445-1515)
Keith Schreiner & Jessica Zamonis, WPP

Keith Schreiner gave an update on the OTS metrics and continued progress of the training program developments. Jessica Zamonis provided a demonstration of the new simulation exercise that has been developed for simulation Continuing Education Hours for system operators. The simulation has a look and feel of what the Entity System Operator would likely see when making a request using the NWPP Reserve Sharing Group EMS interface.

7. Presentation on South to North flows (1515 to 1615) Chelsea Loomis & Ben Hutchins, WPP

Ben Hutchins discussed work being done to improve system modeling base cases. Data analysis shows that models using older North to South flows convention is not accurate, and South to North flows are now a large concern when modeling during peak loads. Discussion followed.

8. Review of NWPP Energy Emergency Plan (1615 - 1645) Kevin Conway, WPP

Kevin Conway gave a quick review of the workflow of the Energy Emergency Plan. Mr. Conway shared a more complete flow chart that outlines the responsibilities of the BAs, the Western Power Pool Staff, and the Emergency Response Team. Discussion followed on the need to update the plan to reflect changes in the industry since 2017, transferring the EEP to another group such as WRAP, or retiring the



EEP as not needed due to new NERC Standards and other factors. The OC will form a small team to evaluate the next steps for the EEP and discuss them at the August OC meeting.

#### **MISCELLANEOUS (1645-1700)**

- 9. Current Operations
- 10. Review of Action Items

Kevin Conway, WPP

All

All action items were reviewed. Item #4 regarding Greg Park following-up with NERC regarding the FERC Order addressing retirement of the interchange terms as related to NAESB was discussed and the OC determined it could be closed. This issue is no longer relevant. Item #13 was marked completed relating to reviewing the Energy Emergency Plans for the May meeting. This review was part of this meeting's agenda.

Three new items were added to the Action Item List:

- 1) Ryan Roy is to report on the impacts of the new budget to the new OC members, due 8/7/2024.
- 2) Kevin Conway is to reach out to AEPCO to inform them that their membership to the OC has been accepted, due 5/16/2024.
- 3) WPP Staff will send out their comments regarding BAL-007/008 to members, due 5/31/2024.
- 11. Future Meetings
  - a. August 7, 2024
  - b. November 6, 2024

Though not finalized yet, the November 6, 2024 OC meeting will be held in the Phoenix, AZ area. ChaRee DiFabio will continue to coordinate with a host member for a location and make an announcement when arrangements are finalized.

- c. February 5, 2025
- d. May 7, 2025

The Meeting was adjourned at 5:13 p.m.

Minutes recorded by Kevin Conway

McDarment, CHPD



### Attendance

Member	Entity	Member	Entity
Kevin Stinson	AESO	Nick Seitz	PSCO
Marvin Bradt	AZPS	Manuel Sanchez	PNM
Matthew Kura	AZPS	Camille Chavez	PNM
Jeanne Oh	DEAA	Thomas Bagnell	PSE
Ty Kristensen	AVRN	Mike Pfeister	SRP
Wei Shao	BANC	Michael Jang	SCL
Marcus Brown	GWA & WWA	Paul Haase	SCL
Dave Brown	BPAT	Harley Johnson	SCL
Steve Felker	BPAT	Matt Weiss	TSGT
Chris McDarment (Chair)	CHPD	Calvin Dacus	TEPC
Jeff Heminger	DOPD	Adam Labuga (Vice-Chair)	TID
Gerald Markey	EPE	Jim Emmons	TID
Abraham Garcia	EPE	Chris Bultsma	WAPA
Mike Stussy	GCPD	Allan Austin	WAPA
Antonio Franco	GRID & GRDS	Tyler Pearce	AEPCO
CJ Ingersoll	GRID & GRDS	Robert Bray	AEPCO
Gary Slayton	IPCO	Sarah Edmonds	WPP Staff
Kyle Bryant	IID	Ryan Roy	WPP Staff
Jeanne Oh	HGMA	Kevin Conway	WPP Staff
Ansley Kulseng-Hansen	NWMT	ChaRee DiFabio	WPP Staff
Jonathan Cox	NWMT	Harlan Tallman	WPP Staff
Sam Ashmore	NEVP	Ryan Colyar	WPP Staff
Wesley Murar	PACE & PACW	Keith Schreiner	WPP Staff
Cory McAlister	PGE	Jessica Zamonis	WPP Staff
Raj Hundal	PWX	Ben Hutchins	WPP Staff